Participating member states

The map below shows the current 39 EPC member states of the classic EP patent system, which also includes non-EU states such as Türkiye, Norway and Switzerland (Nov 2022).

As of today, 17 EU member states have decided to participate in the Unitary Patent System including the UPC. Further EU member states intend to participate, but have yet to adapt their national laws. Only Spain, Poland and Croatia have decided not to participate. The United Kingdom cannot participate because of the Brexit.